Moving Users Across Managed Accounts
In your organization, there may be users who need to move between different managed accounts that share domains. Using this method maintains the user’s original account information while allowing their original email address to be used on a new account. This article outlines how to enable this feature and how to move users between different accounts.
Enabling Movement Between Managed Accounts
To move users between two managed accounts, you must first enable this option on both accounts and have Shared Domains active in your organization. Follow the steps below to allow the movement of users between managed accounts.
- Submit a support request to have the Modify email addresses of archived users synced to another KnowBe4 account feature added to your managed accounts.
- Log in to the KnowBe4 console for Account A once the support team confirms the features have been added.
- Click on the account name in the top-right corner and select Account Settings.
- Enable the Modify email addresses of archived users synced to another KnowBe4 account feature under User Settings. Make sure to enable this setting on both Account A and Account B.
- In the Users tab, archive the user you wish to move.
Moving a User from One Account to Another Account
Once you have enabled the features listed above, follow the steps below to move a user from one account to another. In the steps below, Account A will be where the user is coming from and Account B will be where the user is going to go.
This process takes place through your organization's Active Directory Integration (ADI) and cannot be used for manually added users. For more information on this, see our articles on User Provisioning.
- Navigate to your user provisioning application.
- Remove the user account you wish to move from Account A's user provisioning.
- Navigate to your user provisioning application for Account B.
- Add the user account you wish to move from Account A.
- When your user provisioning configuration for Account A syncs with KnowBe4, the user will be archived in Account A. The user must be archived in order to move accounts.
- Once your user provisioning configuration for Account B syncs with KnowBe4, an Email addresses already used error will appear. This will cause the user's email to update for Account A.
- The next time the user provisioning for Account B syncs with KnowBe4, the account for the user will be automatically created.
Note: On the User Provisioning Sync Report for Account B, you will see an Email addresses already used error from step 6. This error will cause the user's primary email address to be updated and the user's alias addresses to be deleted. The error will go away once the user movement process is completed.
After you’ve completed the steps above, the original account will show a +Archived text in their email address. For example, Bob@kb4-demo.com will get changed to Bob+Archived@kb4-demo.com. When your user provisioning configuration syncs with KnowBe4 again, Account B will create a new user account using the original email address for the user.
Note: Any user provisioning syncs that occur while in test mode will not trigger the original account to receive an update to the primary email address.
To move a user back to their original account, repeat the steps above and have an admin merge the new account with their original archived account. This original archived account will retain all of the user's phishing and training history.
For further assistance with this feature, please contact our support team and they will be happy to help.