Policy Management Module

Policy Management Module Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

In this article, you can find frequently asked questions about the KCM GRC Policy Management module. If this article doesn't include a question you're looking for, contact our support team

For general information about the Policy Management module, see our Policy Management Module Guide

Jump to:

Policies

Campaigns

Policies

For information about using policies in your platform, see the questions below:

1. Do uploaded policies need to meet any specific requirements?

2. Do linked policies need to meet any specific requirements?

3. Can I extend the link expiration time frame for a policy?

4. Can I update a policy during an ongoing campaign?

5. Can I delete a policy?

1. Question: Do uploaded policies need to meet any specific requirements?

Answer: Yes. KCM GRC only accepts specific file types and limits the file size for uploaded policies. To learn more about the requirements for uploaded policies, see the Uploaded Policies section of our Policy Management Module Guide

2. Question: Do linked policies need to meet any specific requirements?

Answer: Yes. KCM GRC only accepts links with specific protocols and limits the character count of policy links. To learn more about the requirements for linked policies, see the Linked Policies section of our Policy Management Module Guide

3. Question: Can I extend the link expiration time frame for a policy?

Answer: Yes. The new link expiration time frame will affect the policy link in any existing campaign notification emails or upcoming campaign notification emails.

To update a link expiration date, follow the instruction below:

  1. From your navigation panel, navigate to Policy Management > Campaigns.
  2. Select a campaign under the Name column. When you select a campaign, you'll be taken to the View Campaign page.
  3. In the top-right corner of the page, click the Update Campaign button.
  4. In the Link Expiration field, select a new time length that is longer than the previous time length. 

4. Question: Can I update a policy for an ongoing campaign?

Answer: Yes. If you update the uploaded policy file or policy link that is included in an ongoing campaign, the policy will automatically update. The update will apply to the policy that your users see when they open the policy from past or upcoming campaign notification emails. 

To update a policy, follow the instructions below: 

  1. From your navigation panel, select the Documents tab. 
  2. From the top of the Documents page, select the Policies tab. 
  3. Next to the policy you want to edit, click the pencil icon. Depending on whether the policy is uploaded or linked, an Update Document or Update Link window will open.
  4. Edit any of the fields that you would like to update.
    Note:If you update the name of the policy, the new name will not display in past campaign notification emails. However, the new name will display in upcoming campaign notification emails.
  5. Click the Update button. 

5. Question: Can I delete a policy?

Answer: Yes. You can delete a policy if the policy is not included in any campaigns.

To delete a policy, follow the instructions below:

  1. From your navigation panel, navigate to Policy Management Policies.
  2. Next to the policy you want to delete, click the trash can icon.
  3. In the pop-up window that opens, click the OK button.

Campaigns

For information about using campaigns in your platform, see the questions below:

1. Can I extend my campaign's end date?

2. Can I delete a campaign?

3. What do the campaign statuses mean?

4. A campaign owner left our organization, but their campaign is still active. Can I transfer the campaign to a different campaign owner?

1. Question: Can I extend my campaign's end date?

Answer: Yes. You can extend a campaign's end date to give your users more time to acknowledge your policies.

However, if a campaign has already completed, changing the end date will not revert the campaign's status back to Active. Therefore, you should change the campaign's end date before the campaign reaches its current end date. 

To extend a campaign's end date, follow the instructions below:

  1. From your navigation panel, navigate to Policy Management > Campaigns.
  2. Select a campaign under the Name column. When you select a campaign, you'll be taken to the View Campaign page.
  3. In the top-right corner of the page, click the Update Campaign button.
  4. In the End Date field, select a new end date. 

2. Question: Can I delete a campaign?

Answer: Yes. You can delete a campaign if the campaign has not completed yet. However, you will need to disable the campaign before you can delete it. 

To disable and delete an incomplete campaign, follow the instructions below:

  1. From your navigation panel, navigate to Policy ManagementCampaigns.
  2. Select the check box next to the campaign you want to disable. 
  3. Click the Campaign Status drop-down menu.
  4. Select Disable Campaign.
  5. Click the Update Campaign Status button. 
  6. Next to the campaign, click the trash can icon. 
  7. In the pop-up window that opens, click the OK button. 

3. Question: What do the campaign statuses mean?

Answer: For information about each of the campaign statuses, see the list below:

  • Active: The campaign is either scheduled or in progress. If you would like, you can pause or disable the campaign.
  • Inactive: The campaign was paused. While the campaign is in this status, users will not receive campaign notification emails for the campaign.
  • Disabled: The campaign was disabled. While the campaign is in this status, users will not receive campaign notification emails for the campaign. 
  • Completed: The campaign has ended. You can no longer pause or disable the campaign. 

4. Question: A campaign owner left our organization, but their campaign is still active. Can I transfer the campaign to a different campaign owner?

Answer: Yes. You can transfer the campaign to a different owner when you disable the current campaign owner's user account. 

To learn how to disable a user account and transfer the user's responsibilities, see the Disabling User Accounts and Transferring Responsibilities section of our How to Create and Manage User Accounts article. 

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact Support